Wednesday, November 2, 2016

Review: Everyday Magic by Emily Albright + Favorite Quotes, Playlist & GIVEAWAY! (CLOSED)


Howdy, all my lovely readers! Today is my stop on the blog tour for Everyday Magic by Emily Albright hosted by Fantastic Flying Book Club and I'm so darn excited about it! In case you guys have missed it, I recently reviewed the first book in this contemporary series titled The Heir and The Spare so be sure to check that out as well because I had some very kind things to say about that book if you catch my drift. 

I was sent an e-copy of this book in exchange for an honest review as part of the blog tour.

Down below is my full review on this book as well as all the links to where you can purchase a copy of this book for yourself and also the author's links to keep up to date on Emily's books and life. Also, please be sure to check out my favorite quotes from the book and the Blogger's Choice Playlist because I FREAKING LOVE MAKING THOSE. Okay, you may continue.

____________________________________________________________

29894480
Rating: PG
Genre: Romance, Contemporary
Score: ❤❤❤❤
Page Count: 336
Book #2 of the Untiled series
Publisher: Merit Press
Published: December 2nd, 2016

For once, Maggie McKendrick just wants to control her own life. Her overbearing Hollywood director father has it all planned out for her: UCLA, law school, then working as an entertainment lawyer, preferably for him. But Maggie has other, more creative-spirit friendly, plans. Namely, Thrippletons School of Fashion and Design in England, and then onto becoming a designer, preferably a wildly successful one. The big snag in her plan? Getting it past her dad.

A movie shoot takes the family to the Scottish Highlands for the summer, and closer to Maggie’s dream school. While there, she runs into the charming Preston Browne. Maggie is intrigued and decides to bend her no guys rule—instituted after her ex used her to get close to her dad. Forced to keep secrets from Preston in order to protect the future plans she’s made, Maggie finds herself falling for the tall Brit. And for once in her life she knows that he’s interested in her, not her Hollywood connections. When Maggie's father blackmails her into dating his lead actor, she isn’t left with a choice. The biggest problem isn’t having to date hunky, mega-hottie, Ben Chambers. No, it’s praying she doesn’t lose Preston in the process.

Excelling at her dream school, Maggie’s personal life is a tangled mess. She needs to decide if living a lie is worth losing Preston or chance going against her father and facing his wrath. When the tabloids expose the truth of her fake relationship with Ben, Maggie's world is thrown into a tailspin. Ultimately, Maggie must find the courage to take risks and forge ahead on her own path.


Review:
PROS:
1. After reading the first book in the contemporary series- which can be read as stand alones and out of order by the way- I just had to hurry up and read this sequel. I thought the first book was so much fun and a lighthearted read that I was really in the mood for and I'm happy to say that this book was no exception. I've been reading more 'serious' books lately and I've been needing some light reads to break things up so I picked this one up and I'm excited to review it for you all! Let's get started!

2. This book follows a girl named Maggie who has a passion for fashion and dreams of becoming a fashion designer despite how much her father will hate her ideas of attending a fashion school. I thought Maggie was a very talented character and knew her passions and wanted nothing to do with her father's world of glitz and glam and Hollywood. She was a very strong character as well but kept people at a distance for fear of who her father is and her brother Marc was the same way. I thought she was a very determined young girl who was both afraid of her father but also craved the moment when she could prove him wrong and go against his abuse of the family. I also loved that we get to see some of the characters from the first book in this one, such as Evie and Edmund as well as having the love interest be Preston, their best friend. I loved all the characters, they all made me laugh and I felt so connected and dedicated to the characters that it made me feel like I needed to finish the book ASAP.

3. I loved the pace of the book, the fluffiness to it, and the romance was totally swoon-worthy and didn't feel too cheesy or dramatic which I really loved and was right up my alley. I love a good romance but only if it's done right and flows with the rest of the plot which was the case with this book. The romance was only a part of the entire story, it also dealt with how abusive and delusional Maggie's father was to her and the family, how Maggie had to learn how to trust people again and become confident in her own talents as well as figure out how to start over in a sense as the story progresses. It was lighthearted read that had some heavier topics sewn in and I loved reading this book because of that.


4. The themes of family and friendship and second chances were highlighted many times throughout the book and I think this contemporary series is a great one for fans of Anna and The French Kiss and 13 Little Blue Envelopes. I would also recommend it to anyone curious about the fashion and film industry if you're willing to deal with a power-hungry director of a father trying to tear apart Maggie's life. Needless to say, I'm really hoping there's a third installment in the works for this series!



I didn't give this book a five-star rating because while the pages flew by too fast for me- I WANTED MORE- I was hoping for just a tiny bit something extra to really make the story perfect. I'm not quite sure what would have made me give this book a five-star rating but maybe a small plot-twist might have done the trick. This book wraps up nicely and is just a joy to read for me. Basically, you should read it too. Like, right now. 


You Can Purchase The Book Here:
____________________________________________________________

About The Author:





Emily Albright's debut novel, THE HEIR AND THE SPARE, is releasing January 18, 2016 from Merit Press.

She's a writer, a major bookworm, a lover of romantic movies, a wife, a mother, an owner of one adorable (yet slightly insane) cockapoo, and uses way too many :).





Author Links:
____________________________________________________________

BLOGGER'S CHOICE PLAYLIST!

If you know me or just follow my Instagram, you might just know how much I LOVE creating playlists for books! It's combining my two favorite things in the world (besides coffee, Netflix, and writing). I'm so happy to be creating a playlist for this book and I've been dying to get started on making it for the past week! I even dedicated a couple of the tracks to Maggie's father . . .

NOW ONTO THE TUNES!

LOVE YOU LIKE THE MOVIES by Anthem Lights

THEY DON'T KNOW ABOUT US by Victoria Duffield

FAMOUS by Kelleigh Bannen

NO APOLOGIES by JoJo


SHOWING UP by Alex G
____________________________________________________________

FOLLOW THE TOUR!
____________________________________________________________


a Rafflecopter giveaway

3 comments:

  1. I'm glad you could read this one at the right time! I know what you mean - after a whole lot of serious reads you need something nice and light to break up the flow a little bit. I especially like the sound of this one being focused on friendship and family - two themes I think are really important!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh yes, a break was very much needed from the things I was reading. I needed a little fun thrown into the mix :D This series has quickly become a favorite of mine so I hope more people will read it and love it as much as I did!

      Delete
  2. Did you consider choosing the ultimate Bitcoin exchange service - YoBit.

    ReplyDelete